Artist Interview: Fred Cayemitte

The artist that I chose to interview is my older brother Fredner Cayemitte. Fred, the oldest of four siblings and a twin, is 23 years old and he works as a Web Producer for Voice of America in Washington DC. He graduated from Bloomfield College in 2016 with a Bachelor of Sciences and is currently working on his masters degree. Fred and his family are originally from Haiti, but immigrated to the United States. Haitian music and culture have a great influence on his music. While music is not his career or main passion it is a huge part of his life and his number one hobby. On top of doing some solo work he is a part of Maranatha Youth Choir (MYC) and God’s Messengers.

The following is my interview with him.

  • Who influences you musically?
    • “To be honest I would say that my main influence was listening to the radio back in the day in Haiti.”
  • What kind of music do you listen to?
    • “I listen to many type of music, mostly Gospel, Compas, R&B, Zouk, Jazz, and Classical. The only type of music I hate is the kind song by groups like One Direction.”
      • [So basically he hates almost all of the music that I like]
  • What kind of music do you play?

  • What musical groups are you a part of?
    • “I have been a part of several groups, but currently I am a part of two groups; a Compas band [The Brothers] and a Gospel band [God’s Messengers]. I am also working solo on some Rap.”
  • When did you first become interested in playing music?
    • “I became interested in playing music when I heard a good piece of Tremolo playing on the radio. Tremolo is a fast paced musical piece that is played on the guitar.”
  •  Where do you want to go with your music in the future?
    • “I don’t plan to turn music into a career, but it would be cool if I start making real money with music. I also want plan to be different then most artist now who sing with playbacks and voice changing software like auto tune. I want to use my real voice like I have been.”
  • What instruments do you play?
    • “I play the guitar, both electric and acoustic.”
  • Where did you learn to play?
    • “I learned to play the guitar from books, Youtube tutorials, and from my friends who played guitar”
  • What draws you to music?
    • ” I like the sounds that I make when playing an instrument. Those sounds just catch my attention and draw me in'”
My brother and I have completely opposing tastes in music and musical talent, so interviewing him and learning about him and his views as a musician was interesting.
Leave a Reply

